lalkhiangte's weblog

#Unlearn

Posted in Uncategorized by gkhiangte on November 5, 2015

We start learning from the time we are born till the time we die. Learning can be a big challenge. However, Unlearning is as important as learning itself and sometimes it is a bigger challenge to unlearn and to re-learn. I have listed some things I could unlearn in my life because unlearning is a mother of learning.

  1. Unlearn what society say is beautiful and learn what I think is beautiful.
  2. Unlearn what my Sunday School Teacher said are evil and learn what is pure first in order to know what’s evil.
  3. Unlearn my parents’ warning against strangers and learn that unfamiliar can become familiar.
  4. Unlearn the social conventions and learn newly set principles defined by me.
  5. Unlearn what people think of me and learn to embrace what I think of myself.
  6. Unlearn stories told by others and learn to tell my own stories.
  7. Unlearn relationship rules and learn to create new rules.
  8. Unlearn the limited boundary of imagination placed by schools and learn to think outside the box.
  9. Unlearn that failure is a bad thing and learn that failure can help me figure out my real potential in times of desperation.
  10. Unlearn trying to fit it and learn that when I’m comfortable with myself I’ll belong.
  11. Unlearn that happiness is attained from outside and learn that happiness is already within me.
  12. Unlearn that self-love is selfish and learn that when I love myself first I can love the world better.
  13. Unlearn that being in love is the ultimate goal and learn that falling out of love is just as fine.
  14. Unlearn that crying is a sign of weakness and learn that being vulnerable and showing emotions is what humans do.
Leave a Reply

