lalkhiangte's weblog

A smoker’s alibi

Posted in Uncategorized by gkhiangte on April 12, 2009

 

I start a fire

I create the smoke

I choke on the fumes

I jeopardize my health

I risk my life with a stick that kills

By striking a match, I start to kill

One by one, slowly and surely

Strike three- you’re out!

My rude inconsideration leaves you breathless

There is no excuse for my ignorance

There is no justification to my cruel crime

I am killing two birds with one cigarette-

Every time I take a puff.

Tagged with: ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ku2 said, on February 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    love this, grl..total identifiable…m puffin away as i type..its not like i dnt know the stats… more like wilfully killing meself

  2. opahmar said, on May 16, 2009 at 11:34 am

    1 cigarette shortens ur life by 11 mins, a pack- 3hrs40min
    Kan lawm e kan lawm e

  3. Andy Varte said, on April 18, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Excuse me for budding in with such a long comment, but I found this song on the net, check out the lyrics:

    It was, I remember, many years ago,
    When I had failed to distinguish between a friend and a foe,
    When they had invited me ,holding open the pack,
    When I lost to curiosity, instead of being taken aback,
    When on that fateful day , for the first time,
    I held a cigarette in my hand.

    It was, I felt a part of being in the teens,
    And what had started with a puff or two became a routine.
    The smoke’s illusion blinded me for as it arose,
    Arose my spirits too, and I muttered to myself, “I can” because,
    With a cigarette in my hand ,
    I felt like a man.

    Soon it came out in the open, for it had become a habit I could not hide,
    I was helpless, for I could not help but continue,
    Even when I knew, it was eating me up from inside,
    I was sick…my body and my soul and I realized,
    With the cigarette in my hand,
    I was a dying man.

    Soon I was just a lifeless form, a hollow,
    People shunned me everywhere, I wished,
    If only had I done something which others could follow,
    But it was too late, I had taken the wrong path, and I was ignored, because
    With a cigarette in my hand,
    I was a hated man.

    All the time, tears filled my eyes,
    For people had bid me their good byes,
    I wept because my cells , my body was choking ,
    If only on that first day,my friends had been joking,
    And then one day, the cigarette dropped from my hand,
    I was a dead man

  4. gkhiangte said, on April 15, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    yeah i know it took long to blog cos i have been busy trying to keep busy. my exam’s starting this saturday and i havnt studied anythin yet..
    i didn’t feel nice blogging and not studying ukno, so i didnt do both..hehe
    anyways, i love ur poem (s) evrytme.. im intoxicated with ur rhymes…
    tell me, why it is so damn hard to quit?

  5. NotGood said, on April 14, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Sure took your time to update your blog.. Got a poem off quizilla and it goes like so:

    Toxic Habit

    Smoke a cig with all of its flavor,
    Each drag you really like to savor.
    Puff, puff goes the smoke in the air,
    All the non-smokers don’t understand and they stare.
    Smell on your clothes stays put,
    Each cigarette like a mini chimney full of soot.
    Lungs withering away and turning all black,
    Just know that it is permanent and you can never turn back.

  6. gkhiangte said, on April 14, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    sahdah! not in my lifetime
    ka ten ltk..ui tho
    i hmuam alo?

  7. zorami said, on April 14, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    advice chu pe chau ve maw haha!

  8. Kima said, on April 14, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Quit smoking. Hmuam sahdah instead.

    😀


Leave a Reply

