lalkhiangte's weblog

jiMmy cOcaiNe (pronounced ko-ka-i-na)

Posted in Uncategorized by gkhiangte on February 7, 2009

[ This is a one act play that I had to write as part of our internal assignments back in college. It is not a true story but something that I just cooked up for a grade.]

jimmy-cocaine-wallpapr1

Act 1

Scene 1

The curtain opens and reveals a stage which is divided into two parts. On the left half of the stage, there is a small bed with toys on it. A pink cupboard is on the left side of the bed and there is a window next to it. On the right half of the stage, there is a living room with a green sofa and a television set in front of it.
It is night time and a six year old girl named Haley with freckles and two ponytails is quietly reciting her prayers by her bedside. Then, she hears loud screams from the living room. Haley jumps up on her bed and holds her elephant soft toy tightly.
Haley’s mom and dad are having their usual fight over her dad’s drinking habits. Haley’s dad is sitting on the sofa watching tv while her mom is standing next to him yelling at him for coming home drunk.

 

Mom: I’m so sick and tired of you coming home late at night smelling like some dead rabbit. Why can’t you be sober for one day at least?

 

Dad: O woman, would you please shut up?  Now where is my little baby Haley? Daddy needs a good night kiss.

 

Mom: Oh no you don’t! Don’t you dare go to her! Go straight to bed.

 

Dad: What?  I can’t even see my own daughter?

 

He gets up and walks drunkenly towards Haley’s room

 

No woman tells me what to do!

 

Mom: No, get back here, don’t disturb her, you hear me?

 

Dad knocks on Haley’s door

 

Dad: Haley honey, you still up? Daddy got you something tonight. Can I come in?

 

He opens the door and gets in. Haley quickly tucks herself in and pretends to sleep. Mom and dad are now in the room. Dad looks at Haley and kneels down beside her bed to give her a kiss on her forehead. Mom desperately looks on

 

Mom: Don’t let her smell you! Don’t wake her up now.

 

Dad: Here, I got a little fish pet for you. You always wanted it right?

 

Dad reaches out from his coat pocket a fish wrapped in a plastic bag. Mom gasps. The fish had died because the water had leaked. Dad giggles helplessly.

 

Dad: O, well, I’ll get you another one tomorrow. Goodnight sweetheart!

 

He gets up and walks out of the room.
 Curtain closes

 

Scene 2

Morning comes and Haley’s dad is lying on the sofa. Little Haley gets up from her bed and peeps out of her door. She goes out slowly to see her father. When she comes closer to him, she notices that something is wrong. Haley’s dad does not move.

Haley: Dad! Wake up Daddy, wake up!

 

Haley’s mother enters the living room from the right side of the stage.

 

Mom: Oh Haley, don’t wake him up now. He’s probably knocked out again. Come on, I’ll fix u breakfast.

 

Haley: No mummy, something’s funny about daddy. He’s not breathing.

 

Mom rushes to him and checks his pulse. She hugs Haley and starts weeping.

 

Mom: Daddy is no more, honey… I’m so sorry..

 

Curtain closes.

 

Scene 3

A dark gloomy day at the Waderby’s. Haley’s room is changed. Her bed is a little bigger. Her pink cupboard has been covered up with rock star posters and her walls are decorated with photographs and posters. Her room is dark and grim except for a little ray of light coming from between the curtains hanging in her window. Haley is writing something in her diary. She seems pensive and agitated to finish her writing. She frantically scratches her arm and looks around the room as if someone would come to take her away. She bites the tip of her pencil every now and then. Suddenly, there is a loud knock on her door. She turns around looking desperate.

 

Haley: Who is it?

 

The knock continues..

 

Haley: I’m really busy right now. Could you come back later?

 

Voice from behind the door: I don’t think you want that Haley dear, what’s the matter? Don’t you want to play with me anymore?

 

Haley: It’s not that. It’s just that I’ve been busy lately. I need to finish my assignments today.

 

Man enters the room

 

Jimmy: Forget assignments. I’ve come to spend the day with you and this is what I get? A lousy excuse to keep me away? What’s the matter? Isn’t it fun anymore? Do you have a new friend?

 

Haley: It’s not that, Jimmy. I can’t hang out with you today..

 

Jimmy: It’s that new guy in town, isn’t it? I’ve seen you two getting real cozy these days. Why are you pushing me away? Don’t I make you happy?

 

Jimmy caresses Haley’s neck

 

Laughs

 

Haley: Yes, we had good times, but I can’t hang out with you anymore. I want different things in life. You’re not helping ’cause all we do when we’re together is fool around. You never take things seriously.

 

Jimmy: I thought that was what you wanted. You said you don’t want to feel the pain..

 

Jimmy lays down a line of white powder for her on the table and whispers slowly to Haley’s ear

 

Jimmy: I know you want me baby! Don’t be afraid. Relax, it’s just one of those days. You’ll feel much better in a while. Just breathe in…

 

Haley: No, you can’t make me do this

 

Jimmy: shhh!! Hush! It’s ok, take a deep breath

 

Haley: No no!

 

Jimmy: Close your eyes and think of all the fun you’d get if you just take a sniff

 

Haley inhales deeply

 

Jimmy: That’s it, relax and sit back..

 

With that, Haley goes into the deepest sleep she never had.

 

Jimmy takes Haley’s diary and reads out loud

 

Jimmy: Help me! Somebody, anybody. I really want to get out of this shit. I want to stay clean. I want to feel wanted and accepted. I need someone to talk to. I want to laugh. I want to live….Help me please!

 

Jimmy chuckles

 

Jimmy: So, you called me ‘a little monster in your head’? Too bad no one’s going to read this now, Haley. It’s been a pleasure working with you, but I really must go now, my friends are waiting.

 

He chuckles again and bends down to kiss Haley on her forehead. He goes out of the room with the diary looking pleased with his latest victory.

 

Tagged with: , , ,

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dii said, on March 15, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    nice piece… 😉 I would love to see it on stage,sis

  2. hruaia said, on February 17, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Nice piece of work! It is like someone opened my brain and poured in a whole new way to write! Writing a play or drama isn’t my cup of tea. I guess, I do not fit into playwright thing and stuff. My first short-play ( In Mizo) was strongly disapproved by my friend. He accused me of being unkind to the Mizo society, saying I was too critical. He failed to grasp the concept that I was trying to make. He had cautioned me that my work may not get appreciated but urged me not to get disheartened and to continue to acquire skills. But i decided not to write again!

    Cheers.!

  3. gkhiangte said, on February 16, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    dear calliopia,
    yes this was a short course we did in college. i took mass communication and video production but we had to take english as part of our course right, so our teacher forced us to write a play which we cannot not do..
    yes, i believe we did learn all the structures, exposition, etc..i never paid much attention..my bad..
    i love GBS’s plays very much though..

  4. Calliopia said, on February 13, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    You write plays as part of your course? That’s so interesting. Do you get to study all about the structure of a play like the exposition, climax, denouement etc as well? And all the 3 unities stuff? This is a pretty good 1 act play you’ve written, neat plot. Your teacher was quite right.

  5. gkhiangte said, on February 10, 2009 at 4:35 pm

    dear notgood, that ‘funny’ thing is a private joke..sorry bout that. yes it is not supposed to be funny. it is very sad and i want it that way..

  6. Zr-i said, on February 10, 2009 at 6:23 am

    Poignant! U only gave her chances to fly 😦
    Andy loves and adores the play (cute), so do I 🙂

  7. NotGood said, on February 9, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    I half expected a ghost of her dad to walk in instead of Jimmy.. guess i’ve been watching to many of those movies.. very morbid but I didn’t find it funny, rather felt pity and sadness on reading her diary..
    Loved the brevity of the play and the abrupt end..

  8. gkhiangte said, on February 9, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    guru kim, well there’s plenty where this came from. i love writing stuff that arent necessarily my experience..

    btw don’t you think this one is funnier than your ghost story???

  9. gkhiangte said, on February 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    andy, i dont remember what i got but my teacher was impressed and told me that i should try writing books and stuff..i said “thats absurd, me write books?” i just love writing dark twisted stuff like this one..this is among the lesser evil that i have written..im not sure if i want to publish the others..hehe..[devilish grin]

  10. Kima said, on February 9, 2009 at 4:21 am

    Now this is quite dark!!!! Didnt expect you to write this kind of script 🙂 Good play nonetheless.

  11. Andy Varte said, on February 8, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I love it! Adore it! Just out of curiousity, what grade did you get for this short play? I think this would make a great short story if you’re up to write it when you have the time…


Leave a Reply

